What are the consequences for multiple DWIs in Texas?
If you are in Texas and have a history of DWIs, getting another could put you in a tough position. That’s why it’s important to defend yourself against DWI accusations as soon as possible.
The penalties for a DWI increase based on how many you have on your record. For a first offense, you may have faced fines of up to $2,000 and gone to jail for up to 180 days. You may also have lost your license for up to a year. Subsequent violations are more severe and begin to multiply and add up.
What happens with a second DWI offense?
If you are convicted for a second DWI offense, then you could face fines of up to $4,000, spend between a month and year in jail and lose your license for up to two years.
A third offense is more significant, resulting in a fine of $10,000 and two to 10 years spent in prison. With a third offense, it’s possible to lose your license for up to two years.
These aren’t all the possible penalties that you could face for multiple DWIs. Additional factors to consider are state fines, which can cost up to $6,000, as well as attorney fees, lost wages and others.
What happens if you’re charged for a DWI and have a child in your vehicle?
If there is a child in your vehicle when you’re charged with a DWI, you can face additional charges for child endangerment as well as additional fines as much as $10,000. Normally, you will lose your license for an additional 180 days on top of any other penalties, and you could be jailed for up to two years.
Alcohol crimes can result in serious penalties that may impact the way you move forward in your life. From social issues and work-related problems to heavy fines and penalties, you may see real effects in your life with any DWI conviction. It’s a good idea to fight the charges, so that you have the best chance of being able to move forward without a conviction or to minimize the penalties.